Your shopping cart
No items in cart.

Being human: the figure in art - Thursday series

How do we tell the story of what it is to be human? It’s a question that every age and every culture has addressed. And where better for an artist to begin such an exploration than with the human figure itself.

From the imprint of a hand in the earliest cave paintings to 21st century digital modelling, the depictions of ourselves, our loved ones, our enemies, our gods and goddesses, are arguably the most eloquent illustration of the human condition.

In 2019, the Society’s Art Appreciation lecture series will study how we look at ourselves and in what ways. With the nude we embody physical beauty and human frailty: the ancient Greeks, Rubens, Lucian Freud. The portrait reveals personality and power: Van Dyck, Gainsborough, Picasso. Social revolution, political upheaval and protest all find expression in the human form.

Over 36 weeks, in lectures by 31 distinguished curators and art historians, Being human: the figure in art, will wrestle with one of the greatest challenges for an artist. How to show us as we are – and who we are.

Proudly sponsored by Renaissance Tours


Program tickets

Member - Full series
$650.00 (Sold out)
Waitlist
Non member - Full series
$900.00 (Sold out)
Waitlist

Thursday 31 January to Thursday 02 May 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 09 May to Thursday 08 August 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 15 August to Thursday 14 November 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 22 August to Thursday 22 August 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 29 August to Thursday 29 August 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 05 September to Thursday 05 September 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 12 September to Thursday 12 September 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 19 September to Thursday 19 September 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 26 September to Thursday 26 September 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 17 October to Thursday 17 October 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 24 October to Thursday 24 October 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 31 October to Thursday 31 October 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 07 November to Thursday 07 November 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre

Thursday 14 November to Thursday 14 November 2019 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Venue: Domain Theatre